Yosemite Through the Eyes of a Buffalo Soldier

Yosemite Through the Eyes of a Buffalo Soldier

One hundred years ago, Yosemite was protected by Buffalo Soldiers, African-American cavalrymen who served in the U.S. Army and were among the first guardians of the newly formed park. Park ranger Shelton Johnson portrays Sergeant Elizy Boman, circa 1903, in this film, which is an artful depiction of life in Yosemite as a member of Troop “K” Ninth Cavalry.  We invite you to witness this exciting and little-known chapter of the park’s history coming alive at the Yosemite Theater, and learn about the legacy of
Shows once per month on select Sundays at 7pm, April 28–October 6
Repeats every week every Sunday until Sun Oct 06 2019 except Sun May 05 2019, Sun May 12 2019, Sun May 19 2019, Sun Jun 02 2019, Sun Jun 09 2019, Sun Jun 16 2019, Sun Jun 23 2019, Sun Jun 30 2019, Sun Jul 14 2019, Sun Jul 14 2019, Sun Jul 21 2019, Sun Jul 28 2019, Sun Aug 11 2019, Sun Aug 18 2019, Sun Aug 25 2019, Sun Sep 08 2019, Sun Sep 15 2019, Sun Sep 22 2019, Sun Sep 29 2019.
April 28, 2019 to October 6, 2019
May 26, 2019 to November 3, 2019
July 7, 2019 to December 15, 2019
August 4, 2019 to January 12, 2020
September 1, 2019 to February 9, 2020
October 6, 2019 to March 15, 2020

One hundred years ago, Yosemite was protected by Buffalo Soldiers, African-American cavalrymen who served in the U.S. Army and were among the first guardians of the newly formed park. Park ranger Shelton Johnson portrays Sergeant Elizy Boman, circa 1903, in this film, which is an artful depiction of life in Yosemite as a member of Troop “K” Ninth Cavalry. We invite you to witness an exciting chapter of the park’s history coming alive at the Yosemite Theater.

Live Presentation, Stage Performance, Film
Select Sundays at 7pm, including: April 28, May 26, July 7, August 4, September 1 and October 6
Adult Tickets $10 – Tickets for Children FREE under 12 years of age

Tickets can be purchased at the Yosemite Conservancy Bookstore and Yosemite Hospitality Desk Tours

Yosemite Theater, Valley Visitor Center
Performer
Yosemite National Park Ranger Shelton Johnson

Shelton Johnson

Born in Detroit, Shelton Johnson is an interpretive ranger in Yosemite National Park. He appeared in Ken Burns’ documentary “The National Parks: America's Best Idea” and was called the “unexpected star” of the mini-series. His extensive research and portrayal of a Buffalo Soldier at the turn of the 20th century has been widely acclaimed.